Due to Covid-19, we have reduced personnel at the offices of the Sylva Foundation and our premises at the Sylva Wood Centre. Emails and phone messages are being checked but please allow a little longer than usual to receive a response.
Please do not arrange a formal visit without first checking with us. Members of the public are free to enjoy our network of permitted paths through the Future Forest as usual.

Sylva Wood Centre

encouraging the use of home-grown wood by supporting skills, enterprise and innovation

The Sylva Wood Centre in south Oxfordshire is the home of the Sylva Foundation. Our main focus at the Sylva Wood Centre is to encourage the use of home-grown wood by supporting skills, enterprise and innovation. We achieve this through a number of ways:

Business Hub

We provide a hub for small businesses and craftspeople who design, innovate or make in wood. Businesses range from furniture making and outdoor structures, to boatbuilding and upholstery. There is also a small-scale timber yard on the site.

Read more about our inspiring community of woodworking professionals.

Business Incubation

We provide facilities to support business incubation, including start-up units, shared workspaces, and hot-benching facilities.

For further information about terms and availability please contact Joseph Bray.

Sylva Wood School

Our dedicated teaching facilities support life-long learning in woodworking and related crafts. We offer a wide range of courses throughout the year, suitable for all abilities.

Read more about the Sylva Wood School.

Landscape

Surrounding the buildings at the Sylva Wood Centre we've planted a community orchard, complete with an apiary. Nearby is our demonstration Future Forest with tree species we hope will thrive despite climate change and increasing tree health issues. We have a new dedicated forest education area with space for local schoolchildren to learn about and enjoy woodland. At the centre of the forest is the reconstructed Anglo-Saxon House of Wessex. A network of permitted paths allows local people to enjoy walking round the site.

Business Community

Find a Business

You can view a list of businesses based at the Wood Centre below. If you would like help finding a particular service (e.g. kitchen cabinets or boat repairs) you can use our simple Find a Business filter. Please note that the charity does not offer an answering service for any of these businesses and you will need to contact them directly using the details provided on their own websites.

Business Description Website
Anthony Dain Anthony Dain. Bespoke furniture and cabinet makers. www.anthonydain.co.uk
AWR Woodwork Alec Roberts. Carpentry, joinery and furniture maker. awrwoodwork@gmail.com
Classic Watercraft Gareth Lewis. Custom boat building and restoration. www.classicwatercraft.co.uk
Colin Henwood Colin Henwood. Builder of wooden boats: restoration and rebuilds. www.colinhenwood.com
Colin Stokes Bespoke furniture and built-in cabinetry. www.colinstokesfurniture.co.uk
Face North Forestry Nick Keighley. Professional forestry contractor offering low impact management of the rural environment, plus mobile sawmill and firewood processing. www.facenorthforestry.co.uk
Illingworth Designs Richard Illingworth. Furniture maker. www.illingworthdesigns.co.uk
Julian Angus Julian Angus. Carpentry and fitted joinery. Education workshops for young people. www.julianangus.com
Leatham Creative Woodwork David Leatham. Furniture, Woodwork, Art and Design. www.leathamcreativewoodwork.co.uk
LulaJames Andrew Joye & Daisy Brunsdon. Bespoke furniture and small craft objects. www.lulajames.co.uk
Mary's Chairs Mary Blaxland. Furniture restoration and upholstery, also offering tuition and creative workshops. www.maryschairs.co.uk
Neil Scott Furniture Neil Scott. Bespoke furniture maker. www.neilscottfurniture.com
Oxford Oak Rodas Irving. Outdoor furniture and pergolas using home-grown oak. www.oxfordoak.co.uk
Pegg Furniture Michael Buick. Furniture designer and manufacturer. www.peggfurniture.com
Stephen Hickman - Studio Cabinetmaker Stephen Hickman, Bespoke and small-batch handcrafted furniture. www.stephenhickman.co.uk
The Microfactory Daniel Bruce. Design, manufacture, management and maintenance consultancy. www.themicrofactory.org

Join our business community

Business Incubation

We offer dedicated incubation facilities at the Sylva Wood Centre which suit business start-up and serious hobbyists. We operate a 'hot-benching' scheme available offering weekly rental in a communal space, with access to a well-equipped machinery workshop.

Read our terms and conditions

Business Units

We offer rental units of varying sizes for established wood-related businesses.

Contact us to discuss your requirements or arrange a visit.