Due to Covid-19, we have reduced personnel at the offices of the Sylva Foundation and our premises at the Sylva Wood Centre. Emails and phone messages are being checked but please allow a little longer than usual to receive a response.
Please do not arrange a formal visit without first checking with us. Members of the public are free to enjoy our network of permitted paths through the Future Forest as usual.

Sylva is an environmental charity helping trees and people grow together.

We work across Britain and are active under four main programmes: science, education, forestry and wood.

latest news

support us

courses

Wood Centre courses

Maker session - Coat Hooks
Sat, 22 August 2020

Knife skills and whittling
Sun, 23 August 2020

Sharpening and Hand-planing
Sat, 19 September 2020

Spoon Carving
Sun, 27 September 2020

Dovetail Tray
Sat, 3 October 2020

Introduction to Steambending
Sat, 10 October 2020

Maker session - Steambending AM
Sun, 11 October 2020

Maker session - Steambending PM
Sun, 11 October 2020

Greenwood Stool Making
Sun, 17 October 0202

Greenwood Stool Making
Sun, 18 October 2020

Box Making
Sat, 31 October 2020

Knife skills and whittling
Sat, 14 November 2020

Spoon Carving
Sun, 15 November 2020

Paddle Making
Sat, 21 November 2020

Maker session - Simple dowel stool
Sat, 12 December 2020

see all courses

donate

We rely on support from individuals, trusts or foundations, and businesses.

Please consider giving to one of our campaigns, or perhaps giving regularly to our charitable work.

We welcome enquiries from individuals interested in discussing legacies or major gifts.

find out more

shop

Buy unique products from us and support our charitable work.